New (circa last year) Rain Barrel set up

17 04 2012

I’ve decided to start getting excited by the tiny things in my life; especially the tiny things that I have NO idea how to complete yet do so anyways.

I’ve wanted to be collecting rain water to use in the gardens and beds.  And I’ve been doing that but the big storms and the deluge they bring have been making things sloppy under the deck, and, potentially then, in the ol’ basement.  I used to have both rain barrels up on the deck but that ended up being relatively lame and when they flooded, guess where it went?  Well, you’ll recall the smurf skating rink?  Well, smurf beaches surround the house under the deck in the summer. 

Not being content with that, I moved one barrel over so it was right next to the garden (it hasn’t been given it’s permanent home yet).  It’s nice and convinient for watering everything!   Right between the fruit bed (Haskap berries in the ground and strawberries to be planted this year).  Lovely!   This picture was from last fall.  You can see a bit of green hose going under the mulch there?  More on that later!

The other barrel has been placed on a perch next to the side deck.  The perch has a slight angle away from the deck so if it overflows, it’s going straight away from the house..  I did the guttering as well.  I’m not expert but there are no significant leaks so I’ll consider it a success for now.

Now, I want to point out that this rain barrel has 2 hoses out the bottom there.  The grey hose runs along the deck and drains out right by the black pot by the stairs.  The green hose runs under the deck, along the house and then over to the garden rain barrel (you see it run under the mulch in the first picture).  The rain barrel by the garden is LOWER than the one beside the house on purpose.  As the water drains from this barrel to the garden barrel, the garden barrel would be the first to overflow as the top is lower.  This keeps water from getting under the deck.  If a storm gets so violent and heavy water just gushes in, the little arm going into this barrel can be turned about so that the water just shoots all over the grass

Attaching guttering was a huge pain in the rump because I did it with no help, didn’t really know what I was doing, and got mixed up.  In fact, as I sit here and type this, I realize where I made my biggest mistakes and kinda wish I could just as easily start over.  Instead, I’ll wait to see how it manages a big rainstorm and go from there.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

