A Nice Warm Fall

26 10 2011

After the growth of summer ends and just before the slow crunch of death approaches, there’s a great time to give your garden a “Good Season” pat on the back.  I decided to rototiller the whole garden and any beds I could.  I finally got right to the back fence (there’s going to be CRAZY quack grass back there…maybe a good place for melons or squash next year….may drown it out a touch.  Next year, I plan and hope to buy new wood for the edging.  The little patch on the side is garlic (I just doubled the size of the patch from that with some smaller store bought cloves.  Curious about what they’ll look like.)

The whole garden bed got rototilled.  I did get a bit lazy on the sections that are going to be next year’s paths.  I was really hoping to put a new window in that would get me some more vinyl window panes so I can make a hothouse.  I’ve talked about it often and I really want the rubber to hit the road.  Stupid money.

Earlier in the year, we had the stump ground down and we put a little herb bed in this year.  It was a lopsided circle that was pretty messy.  I had just rented a rototiller and when I finally figured out how to use it, it was brilliant.  The stump bed was connected to the beds around the deck.  Once it’s cleaned up and edging is up (after a year or two to establish the beds) that’ll be a nice little space.  There is a bit or thyme in the ground as well as some mint.  We will see what will survive the winter!

The whole garden bed got rototilled.  I did get a bit lazy on the sections that are going to be next year’s paths.  I was really hoping to put a new window in that would get me some more vinyl window pains so I can make a hothouse.  I’ve talked about it often and I really want the rubber to hit the road.  Stupid money.

I planted a Cup-and-Saucer vine near the water barrel.  It grew along the deck.  It is supposed to be Zone 5.  Well, they may get a bit of heat from the house and I chopped down all our nasturtiums and they are doubling as a very thick mulch at the base.  Survival for this vine is really just crossing my fingers.  It was generally, a very prolific plant but flowered very late. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Along our back deck, we had about 8 nasturtium plants that exploded in peppery-leaved greenery.  Honestly, nasturtium leaves are delicious;.  If you’re eating a family salad, only 4 or 5 leaves would provide enough kick to be noticed.  They all began to flower very late.  The blooms taste similar to the leaves but I find them more palatable because the texture is smoother.  I’m not enough of a gourmand to explain that difference but that’s what I prefer.

 

That sickly looking hanging tomato still produced about 4 tomatoes after that.  The citronella plants in those two buckets remains relatively healthy given the fact it has received no water from us at all.

 

Lastly, our honeyberries.  The more reading I did, the more indications were that these plants are very hardy, even to disease and such.  So I’m thinking my health issues with the plant nearer the barrel is due solely not being watered enough.   You can’t see it in these pictures though.

 

Yes, that is a garden hose in the bottom right corner.  I’ve rigged up my rain barrels and made a video of it.  At some point, I’m gonna try to get it on here.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

